The 3 Branches of the U.S. Government are:

1)   Legislative

2)   Judicial

3)   Executive


1)  Legislative Branch

The Legislative Branch consists of the U.S. Congress which consists of the U.S. Senate (2 Senator per State) and the U.S. House of Representatives (based on population). There are, by law, 435 representatives in the House. They are responsible for creating laws.



2)  Judicial Branch

The Judicial Branch is made up of 107 courts known as the Federal Court System. They are responsible for ruling on the validity of the laws that Congress passes and applying them in individual cases.


There are 3 levels of the Federal Court System:

1.   Supreme Court

2.   Appeals Courts

3.   District Courts



3)  Executive Branch

The Executive Branch is made up of the U.S. President and a myriad of other positions all that goes with that office --- Vice President, Chief of Staff, Attorney General, CIA, etc. etc. They are responsible for administering and enforcing the laws that Congress passes.


Today, the executive branch consists of well over 3 million people who work in 1 of 3 general areas:

1.           The Executive Office of the President (EOP)

2.           The cabinet and 15 executive departments

3.           An extensive collection of federal agencies and corporations responsible for specific areas of the government, such as the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the U.S. Postal Service USPS).



Look on the "Resources” menu for a more fleshed out version of the Branches of the U.S. Government.