There is no mention of the U.S. Department of Justice in the U.S. Constitution. If that does not mean anything to you, here are some other Dept of Justice agencies that are not mentioned in the U.S. Constitution: 

·         U.S. Attorney General

·         Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)

·         Civil Rights Division

·         Antitrust Division

·         Criminal Division

·         Tax Division

·         Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) 

·         U.S. Marshals Service


The United States Department of Justice (DOJ), also known as the Justice Department, is a federal executive department of the United States government tasked with the enforcement of federal law and administration of justice in the United States. It is equivalent to the justice or interior ministries of other countries.


The DOJ is headed by the U.S. Attorney General, who reports directly to the President of the United States and is a member of the President's Cabinet. The current attorney general is Merrick Garland, who was sworn in on March 11, 2021. The modern incarnation of the DOJ was formed in 1870 during the Ulysses S. Grant presidency.


The DOJ is composed of federal law enforcement agencies, including the U.S. Marshals Service, the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF), and the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and the Federal Bureau of Prisons.


The primary actions of the DOJ are investigating instances of white collar crime, representing the U.S. government in legal matters (such as in cases before the Supreme Court), and running the federal prison system. The DOJ is also responsible for reviewing the conduct of local law enforcement as directed by the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994.


The DOJ is sometimes called "the biggest law firm in the world." It is involved in a lot of matters. The DOJ has more than 114,000 employees and more than 10,000 attorneys. The DOJ an international organization. It has offices in more than 100 countries, in addition to its field offices with the United States and its territories.